Tuesday, October 6, 2009

Contact Lenses and the Mystery of So Cal

I just wanted people to know who didn't know that I have shitty vision. When I say I have shitty vision, imagine a steaming pile of shit and then imagine that it looks like an extremely blurry brown thing. That is what I would see if there was indeed a hypothetical pile of shit lying in front of us. I have measured my nearsightedness to go as far as my hand is long. Meaning, without corrective substances (lenses) I can't see fucking anything.

With that context aside, people who wear contacts are very aware that you are supposed to take them out habitually each night, clean them, put them in cases, then use saline solution to rinse them and put them back in the next morning. (That's what she said.) When I am in Nor Cal, there is so much NATURE and GREENERY that I am always suffering horrific allergies and naturally must take out my contacts every day. When I am in So Cal, I NEVER need to take out my contacts. It is a mystery that I have yet to solve.

To put it into perspective, I arrived in So Cal around August 25. Today is October 6. I haven't taken out my contacts since I've been here. To answer your questions, no my eyes don't get irritated, yes it is probably terrible for my eyes and fuck, I have no idea why. No matter the reason, it cuts my cost of saline solution down significantly and it gives me a false sense of having good vision when I wake up in the morning.

My theory is that So Cal's smog has mutated my eyeball genetics to the point of making my eyes naturally moist enough to endure a night's sleeping and drying. Another theory is that the evil producers in Hollywood make nightly rounds to Orange County and magically lubricate my eyeballs with magical moistification beams. Nonetheless, some mystical force (perhaps caused by the ghost of Billy Mays and his eternal persuasion) has caused my allergies to evaporate, vaporize, disintegrate, etc. Despite all of these chaos theories, thank you So Cal for making me feel like I am not a near-blind crip-o.

No comments:

Post a Comment